My bum finger and a confession

So, two things going on here today. One, I have a bum finger thanks to stacking wood at my brothers. Secondly, I have a confession. But, you already knew those two if you read the title.

On to the juicy stuff. Yesterday, my Mom reminded me of something that I always try to live by, “don’t worry about your weight, just be grateful that you are happy.” However true, and a healthy perspective for living, I have reached a tipping point. For the last year and a half I have watched my weight slowly creep up. Nothing too drastic, but noticeable. Even more noticeable. I don’t have a scale, but I’m guessing 10-15 pounds.

What brought me to this tipping point? Well, what usually brings us there? Extreme bloatedness, my clothes are tighter, my times slower, and pictures. The dreaded pictures. I saw pictures of me in the present and pictures of me 6 months ago. I have not been my normal weight range for a while.

Mom, ever remindful, also told me that I need a race to train for. I’ve been all talk in the race department. I signed up for a half in August and a full in September. Neither of these destination races are within sight for me. What I need to do is find a reasonable distance race in a reasonable driving distance.

Operation get myself back Step #1: Find and train for a reasonable race (I’m thinking the Bozeman Half Marathon in September)

My eating is all over the place and this includes my drinking habits as well.

Operation get myself back Step #2: Reel in my eating and start tracking calories again, ala weight watchers.

I am back on my thyroid meds. I missed about 4-6 weeks with the move and a missing subscription. Hopefully that starts to help.

Operation get myself back Step #3: Start seeing an endocrinologist. This probably won’t happen because I don’t have health insurance right now, but definitely in September.

Hopefully tomorrow I can hit the reset button on my life. I’d like to say that the tumultuousness of this move has got me out of wack, but I can’t blame it on anything except for my own choices and I have to start making better choices if I want to see change.

What tricks do you have to get back on track with your weight?

2 responses to “My bum finger and a confession

  1. I love this cause you put it all out there & your steps to help you get to where you feel happy & that does not mean anything but where YOU feel happy! 🙂

    #3 is great! I have a friend that did that & it is really helping here!!! I have no insurance either so get it! 🙂

    • Thanks! I figured if I put it out there it would hold me accountable. No excuses! That is how I explained it to my Mom, yes I am healthy, but I just don’t feel comfortable. I will have insurance once I start my new teaching job in September. Trying to play it safe until then.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

