Just trying to get out the door on the bike

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7613645/?claim=v254r246j9f”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

It’s been a long time since I have really ridden the ol’ skinny tires.

100_0088

It also tok me a long time to get out on the ol’ skinny tire today too. First, I went to blow up my tire, which was fine until I screwed the presta valve back on and it snapped. When this happens the only thing to do is to replace the tube. ARGH! I hate changing the tire on my road bike. But, considering I don’t have a job or had anywhere to be, I got comfy on the garage floor and changed my tire in actually record time. I must be getting good at this in my old age. And it made me feel less of a rookie trying to get out on the bike.

photo (16)

Um, ya I live here with the backdrop of these mountains.

I started repumping the tire up and at 60 psi, it kept telling me that it was full. Impossible since the tire holds about 80-90 psi. So, I tried the back tire to see if it was the new tube in the front tire or a faulty pump. Verdict: faulty pump. Bummer, because I love that pump so much.

Anyway, tires got blown up and I was on my way out the door when I noticed the seat was down. My multi tool was missing from my bike pouch so I grabbed the one from my mountain biking pack. Wrong sizing for the allen’s wrenches so my seat kept ssslllooowwly sliding down as I rode.

About 30 minutes later, I got myself and the bike together and headed out for 25 miles up the canyon. I got to explore more of my town and of course get more excited about the hidden treasures of this place.

An old mill from the days of settlement in the area

An old mill from the days of settlement in the area

Road biker, mountain biker, or both?

Do you ever feel like a rookie getting out the door? I certainly felt like today was my first time out riding a bike. Jeesh.

Also, as a sidenote I have switched over to bloglovin’ from google reader. So, if you want to follow this through bloglovin’ click the link below!

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7613645/?claim=v254r246j9f”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

4 responses to “Just trying to get out the door on the bike

  1. I used to be a huge roadie but these days, I prefer the mountain bike. I think the scenery is better and don’t feel like the heat is beating on my face from the pavement 🙂

    • Ya I agree about mountain biking over road riding. Hence, why the road bike was in rough shape. Sometimes my legs just need some easy road miles though.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

