Rockin’ the run

I thought it was worthy to discuss my running some more. I took Friday off completely and helped sell a lot of what we realized we didn’t need. It felt good to cleanse and simplify before the move. It also felt great to have some money in our pockets. Saturday we took the dogs for a short hike.

Yesterday I set off, sans watch. I ran for 8 mile straight in 1 hour and 7 minutes. Yikes! That’s fast for this short, stocky girl. I felt strong and although I wanted to push it further, I also wanted to finish strong.

I not only finished strong, but I finished with those slightly tight, aching legs. I yearned for more. I looked up half marathons. Gosh that gets me in trouble.

I woke up this morning to some drizzle and hit the pavement again. I used to take days off between runs, but I am loving the 3 mile shake out runs between hard days.

Feels good to be hitting my stride. Slowly but surely, I seem to be building my stamina back up. And it’s soul cleansing. When the static of life builds up, running clears my mind. As much as I love biking this time of year, I also love strapping on my sneakers, heading out the door and getting in the zone. My runs lately, especially yesterday seemed to be one where the mind disconnected from the legs. The miles ticked away, the time ticked away and before I could even think about it I was home. Those are the best runs.

Image

2 responses to “Rockin’ the run

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

