Back in the saddle

The change in seasons means a change in sports. When I lived 3,000 feet below where I live now, I rode my bike outside during all four seasons. Now, I hang it up and spend the winters primarily skiing and weight lifting with some running thrown in.

Griz wanted to say that he thought it was stupid that snow is going away. He loves snow baths.

Griz wanted to say that he thought it was stupid that snow is going away. He loves snow baths.

Spinning the wheels out on the trails last week with my brother, coupled with warmer temps and little wind made me want to ride my bike again. I say “little wind”, although I hit a pretty strong headwind on the way back. You know, the kind where you have to turn your head sideways and turn into it to keep yourself from falling over. Funny, because I thought I had a headwind on the way up the canyon. Turns out I was fooling myself.

Stopping to take a break from the wind.

Stopping to take a break from the wind. #wearYMX

The road biking is not great Laramie for this reason. Besides Rogers Canyon, if you head out of town in any direction you hit 30+ mile an hour winds. Makes me miss the days of riding canyon after canyon on the front range and putting in a solid 50 mile ride. Eh, whatevs, our dirt is better up here.

The view on the ride

I put 20 miles on the road today and just felt free being out there. The sun was shining, the wind was blowing and and the scenery was beautiful. I even watched some thunderclouds roll in.

 

Those clouds are not carrying snow=happy!

Those clouds are not carrying snow=happy!

Alongside biking needs to come more running. I say need because starting in May I have another round of marathon training. I signed up for Top of Utah in September. I’m not sure that I can actually make it (mainly because of the unknown job and living situation), but I’m going train like I am and do what I need to do to get there.

Happy Spring!

Gearing up to change sports this season?

Any running races on the radar? Believe it or not I haven’t signed up for a single bike race! But, I am doing a half marathon in August and  full in September.

3 responses to “Back in the saddle

  1. I hate when I think I am in a headwind, then I turn around and its worse on the way back!! 😦
    I am doing the Rock n Roll San Fran 1/2 marathon next weekend, RNR Portland 1/2 in May, and then Chicago marathon in October. What races are you doing?

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

