The rest of my spring break

 

I drove home a bit sad yesterday. My spring break with my bro up in Montana was just what I needed at this transitional phase of my life. Just like any vacation, reality hits hard when you come home. We managed to pack in quite a bit in just a week.

On Wednesday we took out the bikes and enjoyed the spring weather up on the trails. Note my brother’s awesome cycling outfit: bike shorts, long johns and elastic bottomed sweat pants over them. Good thing his dogs don’t care what he’s wearing. Apparently his girlfriend doesn’t care either.

DSC02806 DSC02804

Friday brought more snow so we headed to Montana Snowbowl, the local ski mountain. For the price of my local mountain here in Laramie, Snowy Range, we got terrain similar to A-Basin times five. Seriously, this place was full of steeps, spines, bumps, trees, and cliffs. And to think that  Montana has many hidden gems like this that don’t get over run with the typical crowds of ski resorts. My legs were literally burning after two runs. Of course, it could probably have been from our weight workout the day before.

So precious. What a treasure this boy is.

So precious. What a treasure this boy is.

DSC02810

Grabbing a beer in the bar.

One of two- 2 person chairlifts. Love Mom and Pop mountains like this.

One of two- 2 person chairlifts. Love Mom and Pop mountains like this.

 

Saturday we wanted to ski, but honestly my body was sore and hurting from the week. I love these kinds of vacations! So, we decided to hike into some hot springs instead. They were about an hours drive away just over the border in Idaho. The sign said 1.5 miles from the trail head to the hot springs, but my internal garmin told me it was probably only a mile. Either way we got a little exercise before soaking in the pools and sipping on some whiskey.

The bridge from parking to the trailhead.

The bridge from parking to the trailhead.

DSC02819

The happy couple soaking.

DSC02820

Look at those guns….Did you buy a scope for those?

Yup. We were those people that brought their dogs so they could try to jump in the hot pools and harass everyone that walked by.

Yup. We were those people that brought their dogs so they could try to jump in the hot pools and harass everyone that walked by.

The hike back didn't require sleeves.

The hike back didn’t require sleeves.

 

 

Sunday brought the sad, long drive back. I was dreading this. As much as I love road trips, I don’t always like doing all the driving. I like taking naps and reading books. Instead, this fur ball got to take all the naps.

DSC02834

 

Started the drive at 5:30 am in the dark.

Started the drive at 5:30 am in the dark.

At least the views were beautiful and of course no traffic.

At least the views were beautiful and of course no traffic.

 

Of course I was a bit tired from the week and 12 hours of straight driving is not very exciting. Especially coupled with the fact that I didn’t want to leave my broski or the mountains of Montana. Things are wrapping up here on this part of my life journey in the hills of Wyoming and I am ready for the next adventure. I’m not sure where it will be or what it will bring, I know that I’m just ready for it.

 

 

 

 

DSC02850

The open road

Best spring break you’ve taken? I never really took them in my undergrad, but since I started teaching I have done some cool trips. Napa, Zion, The Collegiates. Montana X2

Do you enjoy being the driver or passenger on the road trip? Half and half. But, if I had to choose-passenger. I’m a great navigator, reader, and napper.

3 responses to “The rest of my spring break

  1. Great to see your ski photos. Reminds me of my 14 years in Colorado. I normally go back for my spring break (I’m a teacher) but an ankle injury and knee surgery meant no skiing this year. Next year for sure though.

  2. I love that you brought the dogs to the hot springs (no surprise there), how fun! What a great vacay you guys had. It’s always a bitter sweet feeling coming home after such an amazing trip.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

