The Montana Backcountry

I woke up in Montana this morning and what should my wondering eyes see? SNOW?! After a week of switching to Spring like weather in both Wyoming and Montana there was hope that we could still enjoy the Winter.

We whipped up some coffee and sandwiches, and headed to Lolo National Forest. My brother has skied a vast area of the terrain and I thought he would be such a wonderful guide (ahem. sarcasm). Then, I remembered he was my brother and all I seem to remember his him taking me up, down and around trails that are pretty rough. Today wasn’t much different.

I'm your big bro and I am plotting what crazy technical terrain I can take you on today.

I’m your big bro and I am plotting what crazy technical terrain I can take you on today.

Here is how I remember today:

  • Fun skin up
  • Fun ski down in knee deep powder
  • Skin up
  • Me popping out of my bindings
  • Steep
  • Rolling around for a while
  • Traverse out
  • Ski down
  • Beer
  • Whiskey
Before I realized that his plan was taking me up something ridiculously steep.

Still liking each other as siblings before I realized that his plan was taking me up something ridiculously steep.

 

As you can tell is was a roller coaster of a day in the backcountry. The adventure was bookended with some fresh powder and apre ski. Unfortunately the middle part of the adventure saw me floundering up a steep section with my crappy bindings and a foot that kept popping out. Then I would have to find a flat section and clip back. Then I lost a ski down the mountain that Lisa, thankfully, retrieved for me. All while trying to play the cool little sister.

Thanks Lisa for the ski rescue. I thought it was bound for a tree well and not show up until snow melt.

Thanks Lisa for the ski rescue. I thought it was bound for a tree well and not show up until snow melt.

Regardless, the snow was deep and the company was a 10 on the Richter scale of fun.

Does your sibling know how to push your buttons?

What fun adventures did you have this weekend?

 

 

One response to “The Montana Backcountry

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

