The local beta on backcountry skiing

Moving to this part of Wyoming had us excited for the ease of access to backcountry skiing. Or so we thought. Come to find out, quite a few “sledheads” travel to this part of the country to ride the endless spance of terrain. Not to mention that they close the road for the better part of the year.

Josh standing against the wall of snow at the road closure from two years ago.

Josh standing against the wall of snow at the road closure from two years ago.

 

The mile walk in. Then another 2 miles uphill on skis and 6 miles roundtrip.

The mile walk in. Then another 2 miles uphill on skis and 6 miles roundtrip.

However, there is one local hotspot for backcountry skiing. We see it every time we drive to The Snowies and enter the town of Centennial-population 100. Accessing it takes a little bit of help from the locals. Lucky for us, our friends took us along on Saturday and showed us the goods.

Not going to lie-the mountain was certainly deceiving. I didn’t think skinning up would be that “up.” Pretty much straight up. My calves are killing me today, type of straight up.

The view down into town

The view down into town

The snow on the ski down was surely worth it. Thick up to my mid calves in some spots, and yet windblown in others it was a blast. I couldn’t stop smiling.

Buttery goodness-at least in this spot

Buttery goodness-at least in this spot

I rested today. Besides my arms and calves being sore I have been fighting some sort of virus. I started a to break out with one of those lovely cold sores (I call them the gift that keeps on giving) and swollen glands. That meant drinking a tincture of vitamin C powder and mushroom extract to try and boost the immune system while working on my thesis. Two more weeks and I hand in the first entire draft! Can’t believe the time is near.

Here's a shot of us right before we dropped in. JWail did a great job with photos.

Here’s a shot of us right before we dropped in. JWail did a great job with photos.

Anyone else there get cold sores? Any swear by remedies? I hear that tea bags work well to reduce inflammation and chamomile. I won’t lie, I take the prescription meds-I just can’t stand any part of them!

What fun adventure did you go on this weekend?

 

One response to “The local beta on backcountry skiing

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

