Snowshoeing makes me smile

Confession: I’ve been a bit of whiner lately. I’ve whined about the fact that it’s been over a month since going on an adventure and do crazy fun things in the mountains like skiing, mountain biking or a long snowshoe. I know-#firstworldproblems (and yes, I did just go to the Canary Islands-I get it).

I took the bull by the horns today and told myself that the dogs and I were getting out and having fun no matter what. We headed west to the Snowy Range and put in a 6 mile/2 hour snowshoe. You know what? I did it and it made my soul happy.

Today’s mini adventure reminded mef that before JWail I used to do things like this all the time by myself-NBD. But, in the event of getting comfortable, I became reliant on his weekend warrior company, forgetting how easily I would take off with my dog on the weekend and make my own fun before I met him. It took me a long time to find someone that could keep up with my energy and extreme of excursions. In between finding JWail I decided to just do it on my own rather than missing out on doing everything I love. Mikaya and I started mountain biking deep into the backcountry together, going camping together, and hiking. Having a dog was just as good as having a real person.

Image

Enjoying dinner by the river on the first solo camping trip 5 or 6 years ago.

Today ended my pity party and “getting stuck with the dogs” while he runs off to work-which is play for him. Actually, I love my dogs. They run far, they give kisses to the camera. The frolick in the snow. They don’t talk back, complain or have to wait for me because I’m so slow and act annoyed as a result. Perfect. I ended the hike with a stop at my favorite bar in Centennial and had an O’Dell’s Cutthroat Porter. I think the guy was surprised to see a young girl drinking a beer by herself at a table. In fact, he said to me-“you along little lady.” “Just for today,” I replied.

Image

Image

I got one to look at the camera. The other one is chewing ice balls off her fur-so adorable.

Are you reliant on your significant other?

How comfortable are you doing outdoor activities alone?

9 responses to “Snowshoeing makes me smile

  1. Im the same way. Got comfy with my husband being around. We moved to CO in June. I have sat home for 8 months, only going out when he was home. Could have been exploring…

  2. I was independent before I met my husband and I don’t want to become one of those codependent couples. So boring! But as you mentioned, it is very difficult to find others who can keep up or even want to do a slogfest. I go alone a lot and I’m fine with it. More comfortable in the woods than a couch.

  3. I’m not reliant on significant others very much. If I want to do something, I’m going to do it. I’d LOVE the company, but i’m not going to miss out on something. That being said, there’s a few things I would do alone, so its either a significant other or friend (or dog, if it’s just for protection). Like, hiking a 14er I wont do alone, but I’ll go snowboarding alone, because there’s other’s around. By the way, your dog is SOOO adorable!

  4. We have this thing called the Snow Shoe Grind up in one of our local mountains and I’m so excited to try it! In the summer, we have the “Grouse Grind” which is a 2km STRAIGHT vertical climb (takes about an hour to finish)… I wonder if the snoe show version would be as intense!

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

