Snow day!

It’s almost Christmas break for me. I say almost because although classes have ended and grades are submitted, I still have thesis work to do. Blah! But, what better way to take a break from all the sitting, writing and reading then getting some fresh air after almost a foot of snowfall.

And by fresh air I mean 10 degree air. I thought about my niece a lot during this outdoor excursion of slogging with the dogs. That little bugger hates to go outside in the cold right now. Me, I love it! She sure is missing out.

I only play outside when I can ride ponies and the temp is above 60 degrees.

I only play outside when I can ride ponies and the temp is above 60 degrees.

Before heading anywhere we had to shovel the driveway. The dogs hung out in anticipation while I warmed up shovelling.

Chillin in the freshly shoveled walkway

Chillin in the freshly shoveled walkway

We then headed to our local trails up at “Happy Jack”. I brought my new snowshoes, but I saw they had already groomed trails and I didn’t think I would need them. I was wrong. I needed them. Major fail on my part and now I’m bummed that I didn’t get to use them. Lesson learned.

Most of the trails were not groomed and I slogged through an hour and 45 minutes out there. It’s amazing how different the trails looked covered in snow and not groomed. I got lost on trails that I ride and run weekly! I kept going in circles.

Definitely not groomed and definitely need snowshoes

Definitely not groomed and definitely need snowshoes

Thankfully we made it would and just in time. As we hit the trailhead the wind kicked up, the sun hid behind the clouds and when we got home the temp had dropped to 3 degrees. I immediately made some hot chocolate and cuddled up with my powder hounds. Maybe if my favorite red headed niece had hot chocolate and puppy snuggles every time she came in from a cold excursion she’d be more likely to go out.

DSC02332 DSC02335

 

For me, it was a perfect snow day. I slept in until 8, talked to my Dad, wrote, read, wrapped presents, hiked, and relaxed in the warmth of our home with a glass of wine and good dinner.

What’s your perfect snow day?

Anyone else have a hard time motivating to get out in the cold?

 

5 responses to “Snow day!

  1. Oh, that sounds like such a lovely snow day! Growing up, snow days were the best because my mom was a teacher too, so we’d all have off together. My dad was a fireman so he worked one 24-hour shift, was off for 48, so there was a good chance we were all together.

    We’d bundle up and make igloos in our front yard and a snowman. Then we’d go for a walk on the streets of our town since there’d be no one out! Love it.

    We’re supposed to get out first snow here in Chicago today!

    Great post, Kait.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

