A surprise late season hike in the high country

Let me begin with a story, then get to the details of today’s adventure.

Jwail’s out of town for the next two weeks with Griz. My Mom was supposed to come up yesterday and have some girls’ time, but she got the flu. After working on school stuff all day I had to get out of the house. I took a quick spin on the bike with Ky and let her run the trails, then I headed to our local brewery for a beer and dinner. I happen to sit next to a woman visiting Laramie from Virginia. She said that she was doing a 5k in every state by the time she was 50. She turns 50 next week. She had Wyoming today and Hawaii next week before she completed all 50 states.

Boy, is she lucky (and an incredibly inspiring woman)! It has snowed here the last two weekends. I hit 40mph winds on Tuesday during my run. But, this weekend was beautiful. 60-70s with no wind! Simply unheard of for this time of year.

Mikaya and I took full advantage of the weather today by heading up to Medicine Bow Peak. It starts at about 10,000 feet and summits at 12,000 ft. We hit some snow and wind, but really couldn’t have asked for a better 3 hour hike on a Sunday. Blue skies and sunshine overshadowed the snow that got deeper as we went higher. We saw a total of 2 people in three hours.

I have a rule about hiking. I only hike trails that I wouldn’t be able to run or bike. This trail is definitely one of them. It’s technical, steep, and some might say treacherous in some areas.

Many boulder fields to scramble over.

I hike also because it cleanses my mind. I don’t have to pay as much attention to what I am doing compared to running or biking. It gets me away from the static of my life and allows me to hit the reset button.

So beautiful. None of my pictures will do this justice.

Today it gave me time to think about my research and reflect on all that I have been reading. I didn’t come to any strong epiphanies (although I wish I had). However, my ideas feel a bit more coherent and concrete, which makes me feel better.

The hike gave me time to pray. I always say that my Sundays in the mountains are my church. This beauty is the creation of someone or something higher than us and for that I am grateful to it. That gratefulness inspires me to count all my blessings.

And of course, three hours and 4,000 feet later we were both worn out, tired, and had a great work out all while learning to love life all over again.

Love my mountain dog.

Do you like to hike? Any rules about trails you choose?

What’s on your bucket list? I don’t have a bucket list. I just take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way. So far, I feel I have done what most people have on their bucket lists.

What adventures did you go on this weekend?

 

 

2 responses to “A surprise late season hike in the high country

  1. Love this post! Beautiful pics. I do love to hike, and it’s the main thing my boyfriend and I do on our camping trips out west. I don’t have any hard and fast rules about hiking, but I definitely try to limit myself to about 6 miles of hiking per day (in either one lump sum, or several smaller trails). We’ve found that when we push it to 8, we’re too tired to sightsee and can’t keep up the pace.

    • That’s a good rule when you are a visiting a new place! We have been guilty of doing too much and then sitting around the campfire and never sightseeing. You are smart!

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

