Homemade Pumpkin Puree

It’s that time of year again. We can smell it in the air and feel it in the breeze. We read about those pumpkin lattes from Starbucks, and the Libby’s goes on sale at the grocery store with a nice neat display greeting you as you walk in the door.

One of the things I ask myself when shopping is, “can I make this myself?” Why buy processed if you can buy fresh?

I asked myself these same questions as I sat with a can of organic pumpkin in my hands, begging to be put in cookies and in my morning granola.

Instead I opted for the whole pumpkin in the produce section and cooked up my own puree. It was way cheaper than the cans (99 cents per pound), all natural-no preservatives, and it made the house smell deliciously like Fall.

1. Pick out the cutest pumpkin. Because really, that’s half the fun.

Def the cutest one in the bucket

2. Slice the pumpkin in half and take out the seeds. Spread the seeds on a cookie tray and sprinkle with salt.

The guts.

3. Place the two halves of the pumpkin upside down in a casserole dish with about half an inch of water.

4. Bake the seeds and the pumpkin at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or until the outside of the pumpkin is significantly soft when poked with a fork.

5. Take seeds and pumpkin out of the oven. Munch on the seeds while waiting for the pumpkin to cool. Once cool, scoop out the pumpkin with a spoon and put in a bowl. Discard the skin.

6. Use a mash potato masher or put pumpkin in a food processor. Mix around. Add a tbs of cinnamon and a tbs of sugar. Or however much you want to make it sweet.

Someday I will get married and get a fancy food processor. Because that’s why you get married, right? The cool kitchen gadgets.-Just kidding.Sorta.

7. Cover, refrigerate, and use in anything you desire. We added it to our stirfry. DELISH!

What do you put pumpkin in?

I shared this on What I ate Wednesday at Peas and Crayons and Frugal Days Sustainable Ways.

7 responses to “Homemade Pumpkin Puree

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

