Review:Coolibar Longsleeve Water Jacket

You hear longsleeve water jacket and probably think neoprene wetsuit. Well, that’s what I thought anyway. What you get with the Coolibar longsleeve water jacket is anything but that. It’s a lightweight, waterproof, UPF 50 protected, versatile jacket.

More and more summer clothing come with the UPF protection seal, not to be confused with SPF. UPF stands for Ultraviolet Protection Factor and is the rating system for sun protective textiles.

UPF Rating Protection Category  % UV radiation Blocked
UPF 15 – 24 Good 93.3 – 95.9
UPF 25 – 39 Very Good 96.0 – 97.4
UPF 40 – 50+ Excellent 97.5 – 99+

(Source) Yup, the bad teacher in me just cited from Wikipedia-sorry.

SPF refers to sun protection factor and the FDA uses this to identify actual skin protecting creams, lotions, sprays, ect, as opposed to just clothing like UPF.

The Coolibar longsleeve jacket, with a UPF of 50+ has become my go-to jacket this summer. I have worn it on  bike rides when the skies darken and the inevitable afternoon showers begin to roll in. I have worn it in the water while swimming with my niece (who is the queen of UPF clothing BTW), and I have worn it to the bar because it is actually just that great looking of a jacket.

At the water park in her UPF shirt and short swimsuit.

The Coolibar longsleeve jacket boasts:

  • Full zip front makes changing a breeze
  • Shape-preserving four-way stretch knit
  • Easy care: machine wash, line dry
  • 23 1/2″ body length (size medium)
  • Imported
  • Rated UPF 50+

I got it in a small and it fits perfectly at the waist and sleeves and is not too snug. It also dries incredibly quickly. It is a lightweight, soft material, that seems to adjust itself accordingly to the temperature of the day.

Coolibar jacket

Perfect for running.

Most people think that because I have an olive skin tone that I don’t burn and putting on sun protection-lotion or clothing-is not a necessity. This is entirely false. Melanoma runs in my family, I live 7,200 feet closer to the sun than the average person, and I spend a good portion of my days in the sun running, biking, hiking, and skiing. Having UPF protective clothing like this Coolibar jacket is essential to my wardrobe and lifestyle.

Coolibar Water Jacket

A versatile jacket for all outdoor adventures and excursions.

And the good news-Coolibar is having a 20% off end of summer sale! (Includes all regular sale items). Go over, check them out, and do your skin and health a favor!

**I was in no way compensated for this review. Coolibar provided me with the jacket to review, however all opinions are strictly my own.**

Are you good about wearing sunscreen, sunglasses, and UPF clothing on a regular basis?

One response to “Review:Coolibar Longsleeve Water Jacket

  1. Pingback: Review: Coolibar Split Rock Hoody | Mountain Kait·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

