This state inspires me.

I am on the road this week-finally. With all the preparation of my thesis, I am beginning the field work for it. I woke up this morning at 5:30 and busted out a 6 mile run. I needed the early morning coolness and quiet of the streets to organize my thoughts and ensure that I had everything I needed for this trip.  I needed to leave my anxiety on the street of Laramie, before heading to Lander.

There is a reason I moved to Wyoming. Actually, there are many reasons. But, as I left the Interstate this morning and headed North on the two lane highway through the state, I felt liberated. From the wide open ranges with antelope roaming free, to the jagged granite peaks, each mile of the state tells the history of the earth through it’s landscape. It leaves one awestruck, curious, and thirsty for more.

Antelope on the side of the road

There were numerous RVs, UHauls, and mini vans, all making the trip through the state to Yellowstone and Teton National Park. I smiled as I passed them thinking, this is the state I call home and I don’t have to take vacation to visit. In fact, I am heading into work.

Lucky. That’s what I consider myself as I pass historical markers and mountain ranges with cattle and their newborn calves at the base, while making way on my morning commute. What was once merely a road trip for me to bike races, music festivals, and summer frolicking is now a staple in my life.

This state inspires me. It makes me smile, daydream, and conjure up my next lot in life. I scanned the mountain peaks thinking which one I would like to climb while here. I rolled into town, wondering if this is where I would live in a year. I read the flyers in the windows to see if a race would be in the area soon. Inspiration surrounds me.

Do you love the state that you live in? Why or why not? I think I have made that clear.

What was the most favorite state you have been to? I had some interesting experiences in the South-Tennessee, Alabama. But, I wouldn’t want to move there. The culture was just so different.

What state would you like to visit? Hands down-Alaska.

10 responses to “This state inspires me.

  1. This was a great read and a great reminder that I really DO love Colorado (even in the summer, when it’s hot and there are fires everywhere). I want to climb the 14ers and run the trail races and sit by the mountain streams. I want to get better at cross-country skiing in the winter and someday (if we can afford it!) spend Christmas up in the mountains with my family. It’s a magical beautiful place–I sometimes forget that in the day-to-day grind of life!

  2. I do love my home state, CO, but I’ve been here all my life pretty much. I need a change and want to experience something new. Some of my favorite states have been California, even though I’ve only see a fraction of it, hawaii of course, washington, oregon…and I just came back from Alaska!!!!! It was fantastic!

  3. I don’t think I’d say “love” but Wisconsin feels like home. I’m not the hugest fan of winter though and if I could live anywhere in the world, I would choose Kauai, hands down. A girl can dream 🙂

  4. Pingback: Inspired by my state-this time on the bike « Mountain Kait·

  5. Pingback: What I did on summer vacation « Mountain Kait·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

