What to do with those beets?

Last year while hitting up the farmer’s market, I decided to try beets. I had been hearing great things about this root vegetable. They are a great source of:

  • phytonutrients,
  • antioxidants,
  • folate,
  • magnesium,
  • fiber,
  • potassium
  • vitamin c.
The problem is that I can’t eat beets the conventional way, but I figured throwing them in smoothies was a great way to hide the taste and still get the nutrients.

Last week, the farmer’s market came early. This meant that it was slim pickings for vegetables here on the high plains. But, beets, a cold weather root vegetable, made their appearance. I decided to get some. But, I didn’t want to just throw them in protein smoothies.

I decided on beet chips. Kale chips were the revolution a few years ago when we all pondered what to do with our Kale share, now beet chips found a spot in the veggie snack realm. Super easy, like kale chips, but a bit more prep work.

Beet Chips:

Prep work

  • Slice off the leafy tops
  • Clean the beets
  • Peel the beets
  • Slice the beets (You can use a mandolin slicer or just a knife, but make sure that they are thin or else they won’t get chippy enough)

Cooking

  • Pre heat the oven to 350 degrees
  • Lay the beets on a cookies tray.
  • Drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper
  • Bake for about 20 minutes or until crispy

What to do with the leftovers?

Because it is early in the season the beets from the farmer’s market were small to medium. I used the medium ones for the chips and saved the smaller ones for my smoothie of course.

I also save the leafy tops and threw them into my tofu curry, salad, veggie medley. Waste not, my friends.

This is shared on What I ate Wednesday, and Frugal Days, Sustainable ways

7 responses to “What to do with those beets?

  1. Oh beets. I tried cooking with them once but it was so messy, I swore it off. Maybe I should give them a go sometime again… I used to really like them pickled!

    • I’m with you on beets being a fear food. Smoothies are easy and they will introduce you to the flavor a bit. These chips are doable for me and like I said-I’m usually not a fan.

  2. Interesting – I may have to give these a try even though beets aren’t my fav! Maybe once I get that mandolin that’s on my wish list. There’s a better chance I can fool SoulDaddy that way! lol.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

