Family endurance training and injuries

Mountain Dad and I were texting back and forth last night. (I would show you the text, but I don’t have a fancy phone. I am 28-almost 29 and still on a family plan with my Mom. I get whatever the free upgrade is every two years). Mountain Dad has always done his best to stay in shape. He owns a home gym, (because he lives so far away from civilization), he only stays at hotels with gyms, and I give him credit-he is incredibly diligent about getting up, drinking his coffee-sorry tea, and working out. Anytime he comes out to visit us in Colorado, Wyoming, or Montana he knows to start getting in shape for hiking, skiing, or hunting.

Currently, he is training for an elk hunting trip in Montana with my brother. His training method: hiking in his backyard with a weighted backpack. First ten pounds, then 15 pounds, then 25 pounds. His training style is a bit Rambo for my neatly prescribed excel spreadsheets, but whatevs. It works. Or should I say it worked, until he hurt his hip.

Now he just sits around in his fur hat and camo dreaming of better days. (Seriously-he wears that hat-often.

Most people’s response to my Dad and his hip injury was “your not 16 anymore.” “Don’t do so much.” Those responses from people are frustrating. Somehow the average person just does not get it. You ran how far? You biked to where?

I was 27 when I broke my foot 3 times in 6 months. Here I am one year later and running a marathon. Please don’t tell Mountain Dad that he is too old. I realized last night that endurance training, racing, and participating runs in our blood. Mountain Dad told me, so it must be true.

Hanging with Mountain Dad. I had run 13 miles this same morning before hanging out at the family party.

I don’t have a clear reason why I run long distances or head out for 100 mile bike rides other than because I can. I work out regularly, push my body hard, and once I hit a plateau I push it harder. It’s a lifestyle. When days off role around, I don’t spend them shopping or on the couch, I decide to head out for long run or ride.

Once I went to the endurance side over 4 years ago when running my first marathon, I never went back. I knew what my body could handle and endure. Even when breaking my foot (times 3), mentally I wanted nothing more than to go the distance.

About to run my first marathon

But, all within reason. I have learned since the foot incident that when we push our bodies too hard, they scream back at us. Or like a child throwing a fit, they sit down and refuse to do anything.

Perhaps Mountain Daddy has pushed it a bit too hard, but it doesn’t mean that he can’t go the distance. And it doesn’t mean that when people tell us to stop that we will. In fact, we will  just go further.

So, I did what any good endurance addicted daughter would do and sent him a bit of reading today:

How to support someone running a marathon

The Sugarloaf Marathon official website

His backpack will be full of Cliff Shots and water, but at least significantly lighter than 25 lbs.

Do people every question why you run or bike so far? All the freaking time

What is your response? I don’t have one. Help me be witty please.

22 responses to “Family endurance training and injuries

  1. I totally agree on the endurance in the family. My parents have both run marathons. I truly believe it’s naturally easier for me than my husband and a lot of my friends. A little part of it is the extra self-disciplined side, but that probably came from my parents too, right? 🙂 Hope he feels better soon. He is far from too old. My dad is mid-50’s and can beat the heck out of both Kevin and me in a 5k.

    • Thanks Corrie Anne-I hope he reads that last part!
      I think you are right with the self disciplined part too, I hadn’t really thought about that.

  2. My dad is in his mid 50’s and can kick my butt at running haha! go mountain dad! i see my parents as an influence to keep moving for the rest of my life. They both look nowhere near their real age because they’re so in shape….thats some motivation!!

      • No, it’s just that your post reminded me of a comment made by one of the runners about our limits; that the only ones we really have are the ones we put on ourselves.:) And if anyone is in need of endurance inspiration, that is the movie to watch!

      • That is a good bit of inspiration-thanks! And I probably will re watch it before the marathon in just under two weeks!

      • Great idea; it got me pumped for my second workout of week one “Couch to 5k”. If those guys can run across the desert, I can run to the next lamp post! 😉

  3. I will *never* tell anyone in your dad’s position that they are “too old” to do what they love. Good for you for supporting him and those like him. I wish my dad were more active.

    • Ya, I am proud of him. I just never stopped to realize how great it is to have active parents. I appreciate it now as we all get older.

  4. That is so nice your dad is going to be your cheering team/support system! My mom is awesome about that but will be missing my marathon 😦 Are you getting as nervous as I am? Although you are a marathon pro so maybe not 😉

    • I wouldn’t call myself a “pro.” I am definitely getting anxious and excited. I am sorry that your Mom can’t be there. This is the first race my Dad will have been at.

  5. Totally agree with your comment “Somehow the average person just does not get it. You ran how far? You biked to where?” Some people will never understand and will continue to think we’re all crazy. C’est la vie!

  6. Wishing you father a very speedy recovery!!!

    Yes, I get the whole, “Why do you get out of running 3+ hours long?” Then I found that a lot fo my friends now are runners or work out monsters just like myself, so they get it. I run becasue it makes me feel good. AND, recent studies just came out stating that you live an extra 6-years longer if you run! ;o)

  7. Neither of my parents were athletes or into “working out”. In fact my dad HATES that I workout so much. My mom was always proud of my accomplishments. My dad has yet to come watch an event. sometimes I wish it was easier for him to understand. Its something I’m passionate about, is it easy for me? No. but then again if it WAS easy everyone would be doing it. right?!
    love your blog! I found it via hungryrunnergirl!

    • That’s too bad that both of your parents don’t support it. But, at least your Mom is still there for you. You are are right, if it WAS easy, then everyone would see eye to eye.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

