My passion… for now

There are so many areas of our lives that we are passionate about; from professional to personal and everywhere in between. Personally, right now I am passionate about training for this marathon, one year after breaking my foot. Professionally, I was once passionate about teaching and educating (I still am, just in a different capacity), now I am passionate about my research for graduate school.

If you have never read Randy Pausch’s “The Last Lecture,” you should. Randy discusses how he had all these dreams and by the time he was diagnosed with cancer, he realized that they had come true. I read Randy’s book in awe, because I myself have been living every dream I’ve ever had. I wanted to become a teacher out west. Check. I wanted to race mountain bikes. Check. I wanted to run a marathon-or more. Check.

By the time I read his book, I had checked every dream off my list. So now, I had to dream more so that I had more to check off my list.I wanted a master’s degree by the time I was 30. I wanted to throw myself into full time research. I wanted it to be paid for and I wanted to be paid. I wanted it in a topic that had to do with the environment. Check. Check. Check. Check. These are not just merely dreams for me, but day dreams. The stuff you zone out about while running and biking.

What you think about you bring about.

Right now my research is a dream. It is a passion of intellectual challenge that fuels me. I have had the incredible fortune of a series of open doors leading to more open doors, all propelled by a passion.There is nothing I believe in more at this moment than to contribute to a growing field of academic literature that prepares rural communities for economic development and helps those involved in environmental problems.

I skipped the workout this morning and hit the road to shadow a couple of interviews in a few rural communities in central Wyoming. Perhaps you have heard or read about this in the news:

This is a natural gas explosion that has allowed an unknown amount of gas to leak and forced people to evacuate from their homes.

(Source)

I went to that town today and talked to the mayor. I also went to a town south of it and talked to the newspaper editor. It was captivating and intriguing and definitely left me with lots to process on the 2.5 hour drive home.

Processing it all and smiling at my progress

The beauty and intricacies of this state never cease to amaze me. My work, my research, and my life has a new adventure in it. A new challenge. A new dream. All pushed forth with passion.

This landscape never gets old. The 65 mph headwind does. Even driving there is a headwind on the way home-never gets old.

And of course wine. Wine allows us all to dream-promise.

What new aspect of your life are you pursuing with passion?
Definitely grad school, research, and this silly marathon in 3 weeks.

Do you love sweatpants and wine at the end of a long day? Seriously, nothing feels better to me than this! I bought this bottle of wine while wearing sweatpants. I have no shame in wearing sweatpants in public on a Friday night.

12 responses to “My passion… for now

  1. That’s awesome. It’s so inspiring and fulfilling to be able to pour your time into something you’re passionate about! I love being comfy and staying in on a Friday night!

  2. Inspirational goals. My passions right now is to run a 10K race, travel as much as possible, take time to find excitment in life again. I love sweat pants and red wine after a long week. 🙂 You have good taste.

  3. I like the new page design. I have read Randy’s book, but it was a long time ago. Thanks for reminding me; it is giving me an idea for my own post 🙂
    What state are you in?

  4. So happy for you : )

    I am passionate about running and residency.

    Wine and sweats? How you could one turn that down…my favorite type of night!

  5. I am soooo a wine and track pants girl! Wine is really the one thing i refuse to cut out of my diet. Its the best way to unwind after a long week! As for my current passion, it would definitely be training for Tough Mudder! only 4 months away! eeek!!! I have been lifting a lot more weights and really leaning out my diet in order to train for it. here’s hoping that i cross the finish line!
    Can’t believe your marathon in only 3 weeks away! so exciting! and a major comeback from a broken foot!

  6. Pingback: Why I ________. « Mountain Kait·

  7. Pingback: Mountain Kait·

  8. Pingback: » Passionate about living THE DREAM » The Creative Womb of An InfoPreneur·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

