Earth Day Celebration-Sowing Our Seeds

Happy Earth Day! What better way to celebrate spring, than starting our garden seeds.

Mikaya enjoying the warm lazy Sunday of gardening.

We are trying to do everything from seed this year. Some indoors and some directly in the ground. We will have three separate areas for planting-some full sun, some shade, some half and half, plus pots of herbs that get shuffled around.

Here’s what we are doing from seeds inside:

  • Hot peppers-jalepeno, cayenne, poblano, Anaheim
  • Eggplant
  • Bell peppers-all colors
  • Zucchini
  • Squash
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach

Here’s the seeds we will plant directly in the ground:

  • Peas
  • Beans
  • Italian Parsley
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Potatoes
  • Lemonbalm
  • Peppermint

Our herbs in pots:

  • Basil
  • Chives
  • Oregano
  • Cumin

Rather than buying potting soil, we used soil from one of our older pots. It had lots of organic composted materials in there from years of planting herbs and flowers. I even found an old peanut shell from a compost pile years back. I mixed the soil with fish emulsion and pine bark. Here in Wyoming and Colorado we have had a pine beetle outbreak that has killed lots of our pine trees. One man realized it was great for soil and shredded it.

The ingredients (be careful, dogs love to lick the pots with fish guts!)

We bought a few new compo stable seed pots, but we also had a lot of our plastic trays left over from last years plants. So happy that we stored and saved these.

We are still getting used to high plains gardening. At 7, 200 feet, we are about a month behind our friends an hour to the South. We won’t actually be able to plant in the ground until  after the first of June. Then we know that the frosts are officially done and there is just about a slim chance of snow. We are still seeking out seeds for certain variety that thrive better at this altitude. But, we got a good start today.  It feels like new beginnings in our home with seedlings all around!

What we have planted so far!

Do you garden? Patio pots even? This will be my fourth or fifth year putting in a garden. I couldn’t do it the few years that I lived in a condo-just a few patio pots.

Green thumb or brown thumb? Outside, I have a green thumb. I spent three years working in a greenhouse, so I do pretty well. Indoor plants is a different story. I finally made it through my first winter only killing 1! In fact, even my hibiscus is blossoming.

4 responses to “Earth Day Celebration-Sowing Our Seeds

  1. What a wonderful post. Happy Earth Day! It also happens to be my MIL’s birthday too. ;o)

    I wish I had a green thumb, but man, I am terrible. Also, I get bitten by everything. I don’t know if I’d be good in the garden.

  2. Pingback: Growing Time! « Mountain Kait·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

