First time for everything

Let me cut to the chase here, my friends. I made it 2.5 miles in 30 minutes before stripping off a layer of clothes, getting back under the covers, and going back to sleep for 3 hrs. Never in my life have I cut a run that short! Never in my life have I gone back to bed! A nap, yes. Bed, no.

I finally just woke up and took a shower and as I have been beating myself up, “Coach” JWail has done a great job of telling me that it all sounds normal. That he has done it before to. He has gone out for runs or bike rides and his body just couldn’t do it and he turned around.

I walked .5 miles in. My first mile was 12 minutes. My second mile was 13 minutes before I made the decision that this just didn’t feel right. I couldn’t see myself finishing 10, 15, or even 20. The weather was perfect. Usually perfect weather can make me appreciate what I am doing and love it.

I took yesterday off, drank water all day, and ate well. All the normal stuff. I woke up this morning at 5:15. My goal was to run before the crappy weather came in. I’ve wake three days a week at roughly this time to work out-NBD. Today-Big deal. I drank a cup of coffee, a glass of water, ate a banana, and a piece of peanut butter toast. I did not deviate from any routine. I just couldn’t do it.

It’s defeating for sure. But, I am always one to listen to my body. And today I suppose I should do the same. I did come down with a nasty infection this week and had to be put on some serious meds, so perhaps my body is healing and in telling me something.

I have 5 weeks until the marathon. I just booked my ticket yesterday to fly into Maine. If I get one 20 pluser in between now and then I will be set. Really I have nothing to stress about that way. I am just more stressing about what is going on with my body.

Ever turned around and gone back to bed?

Tell me about your bad run, so I don’t feel so alone.

Don’t forget about my giveaway for some sweet sunglasses! It ends Monday. Head on over to 11’s Wear on facebook and like them. Then come back and enter here.

12 responses to “First time for everything

  1. You were smart to call it quits for the day and head home. Listening to your body is so important, especially now that the marathon is so close. You will get that 2o miler in and you will be ready for the marathon! As my bloggy friend Theresa (acourselinetothefinish) would tell me when things like this happened during my training, “You’ve got this!” You’ll do great!

  2. It was such a good idea to turn around when you had to! Besides all the training, your body is probably tanked from fighting off your infection. That takes a lot of energy. Thank your body for giving you a rest day and enjoy your next run!

    • Ya, I can’t find research proof, but I always feel that there is a direct connection between antibiotic use and the affect it has on activity levels.

  3. Oh no! Sorry to hear about your run but sounds like you needed some rest!

    I remember last summer one run I made it like 3 of 10 for no good reason also. It just wasn’t with me that day! But instead of going back to bed, I went home and cried because I’m mature like that 😉

  4. You’ve got loads of time to get your last long run in before the big dance! You’re smart for listening to your bod. ‘sides, there’s prooooobably nothing more enjoyable in life than crawling back into your warm bed after waking up. Mmm, sleep.

  5. The week before my first race I was feeling exausted from doing too much in life and still trying to keep up with training. I went out for a run to lift my spirits and it made me feel tired and actually worse. While running I got this pain in my stomach. Normally I’d breathe and run through it but it didn’t feel right. So I cut my set down, took a bit more time to walk. I was pretty disappointed but knew it was best to listen to my body. Don’t feel bad about today. The worse things I hear from runners is when they don’t listen to what their body is trying to tell them and then they are out of commission for months. You still ran, and I have no doubt you’ll be feeling back to your old self soon. 🙂

  6. In February, I had a *terrible* cold and went out for six miles with 2.5 minute hard intervals in it. I ended up running *much* shorter with NO intervals and then getting straight back into bed after the shower and sleeping all day. I’ve totally been there!

  7. Oh, I’m so sorry. I’m with you… I had a TERRIBLE virus this week that landed me flat on my back and haven’t been able to run for 8 days! It’s such a bummer when you’re on a roll! But you will do great in the marathon! Your body is just getting stronger as you rest and you’ll be better than before!

    • Sorry to hear about your virus! That is a bummer. But, you are right, the rest does our bodies good and we will come back stronger than ever!

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

