Patience…

We french press our coffee every morning. When JWail is in charge, it takes a while. That boy is precise about his coffee. Me, I want it as quick as possible. But, to make the perfect brew it take time:

After heating the water in the tea kettle,

First you have to stir

Then you have to put the plunger on top, but don't plunge-you have to let it steep for a few minutes (ps, I don't know why the french press has stains on it-it's clean, I promise-don't judge).

Sometimes I feel myself getting impatient with a lot of things in my life. Like the french press. I just want to pour the water in and push the plunger down and get my coffee into my mouth as quickly as possible.

I was told that I was impatient with this little cute red head on her easter egg hunt. I was just helping her to find the eggs faster...jeesh.

I started thinking about it more while running speed work on the treadmill this morning. I was at 7.0 and I thought “this is easy.” Since when did a sub 9 minute mile on the treadmill become easy? I bumped the pace up and began thinking about if I had reminded myself to be patient, then I would have remembered that there is always a time in your training-for anything-when what was once hard now becomes easy.

I looked in the mirror and realized that my running shorts were loose and baggy? When did this happen? oh, patience.

I have a tendency to send out emails and then check my email incessantly for a reply. Why can’t anyone reply faster! I want instant response. Again, patience.

I spend weeks preparing and proofreading grant proposals, send them in the mail and then wait. While I wait I listen for the mailman everyday and run to the door. I want instant money (don’t we all). Patience.

I would really like an ipad, but can’t quite fork over the money just yet. If I wait, I might get a better deal. Patience.

So, today I will slow down, take my time and try to quiet the chatter in my mind. I will start with slowly savoring this cup of coffee.

My favorite mug-The tree of life.

If you haven’t entered my giveaway for a free pair of 11’s Wear Sunglasses, yet, head on over and do it!

  • With what or towards what do you need to be more patient about in your life?
  • Do you have a favorite coffe/tea mug?
  • How do you practice patience
10 responses to “Patience…

  1. Such a good reminder about patience!!! Most things–well most things that are worth it–take some time. I tell myself to be patient with my body if I am recovering from an injury. The body will heal itself for most things. Sometimes it just takes a long time 🙂

  2. This is very important for me right now! And of course you’re right.

    I did have a favorite mug, but I left it at the park one afternoon. Oh well. Hopefully somebody nice found it and likes it as much as I did.

  3. Beautifully stated! I’m horribly impatient, which is something I really need to work on! (I’m a grant writer, so I understand the desire for instant money once that proposal is sent!)

  4. I’ve been super impatient on the job front lately!! And I feel the same way about emails. Lol. Really any email. But I love noticing those little improvements!! Yay for easier miles and baggier shorts!

  5. I need a french press I think! Im jealous 🙂
    I do have a favorite mug for sure! One i got for xmas this past year actually.
    I am SO impatient. Mostly about little things, like waiting in line, etc and I for sure need to work on that!

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

