It’s all in the planning

Being the weekend and marathon training time that means only one thing-  a long run day. Usually my life revolves around me, my boy, and our dogs. This weekend it revolved around sharing the babysitting duties of my niece with my Mom. This meant that I did not have Saturday to sleep in and run whenever I felt like it. Nor did it mean that I could fuel the day before according to my schedule. It was a beautiful lesson in the potential future of co-parenting.

The day before the long run started off with a plate of homemade pancakes from JWail. This boy loves to bake and he sure is good at it. He makes pancakes about once a week and freezes them for us to heat up for days of big fueling.

Fluffy non bleached local flour pancakes topped with agave nectar

After that I drove down to Colorado and met my Mom and The Munchkin for some soup, salad, and bread sticks at Olive Garden.

Then it was on to some shopping. I was looking for a LARGE dog bed for the new dog, Instead, The Princess was given more toys.

Seriously Grandma-there is a bit of spoiling going on

My afternoon snack consisted of cheez-its. Clearly she had to let the new baby fuel as well. Totally unhealthy, but we are at Nana’s and that is what Nanas are for.

I didn’t take pictures of the carb-loading dinner, but my Mom made her fabulous and famous pasta dish loaded with broccoli, peppers, eggplant and tossed in garlic and olive oil.

Of course there was plenty of water drinking going on as well.

All of  that on Friday prepared me for my run on Saturday.

I woke up at 5:30 am, ate a bowl of oatmeal, drank a cup of coffee, and a glass of water and was out the door by 6:00. My goal was to run 20 miles and be back by 9:30 so that my Mom could go ride her horse with a bunch of girls at the barn. Mission accomplish. I finished in 3hrs and 34 minutes.

I was able to refuel with this cutie pie over some lunch of Annie’s and Quorn fake chicken patties.

Yum!

The run reflection: The reality is that I probably could have gone faster. The last few long runs I allow myself to take my time and I am sore when I finished, however I am barely sore a few hours later and not really very much the next day. Today my quads are a bit sore, but honestly I would expect them to be a lot more sore.It used to be that long runs were just about getting the miles in and getting used to being on your feet for that long. I hit the average pace that I needed to according to my training plan, but I can probably be pushing it a bit more. In fact, I have been thinking that about all of my runs lately…

Perhaps there is more here for another post.

4 responses to “It’s all in the planning

  1. good training run!! 13 is the farthest i have ever gone. by the last mile my knee and ankle were bothering me which i have never had before!! hope they are ok for my next run!!!

    • Congrats on 13! Someone once told me that aches and pains come with the territory of half and full marathon training. I am sure that your body will adjust.

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

