Trashy mags get me out of bed and running in the a.m.

I loathe the treadmill. When it comes to running, I would much rather be outside. We had a treadmill growing up and I would run for about 15 minutes on it. Granted, I was not really a runner back then and 1.5 miles was long, but I was in great shape and carrying a lot less weight. Still, it was BORING. I stalk read blogs where people run 8, 15, sometimes 35 miles on their treadmill-all before they go to work! I have no idea how they can keep that pace for that long without poking their eyes out with sharp objects.

I decided to try the treadmill this morning since I had a speed workout on the calendar. Speed workouts I can do because the run is broken up into parts. However, today had me doing the following:

10-20 min warmup jog

3 miles @ 8.15 min/mile with 1 min rest between

10 minute job cooldown.

WTH! That is not a typical speed workout in my book. But, whatever that is why I am following a training plan and not doing my own plan. I need to be pushed.

I woke up this morning at 5:45 and while I listened to NPR and debated not leaving my warm, cozy bed, I realized that yesterday I had seen the new PEOPLE at the gym. And we all know that the best part of a gym membership is access to the trashy celeb magazines that you wouldn’t normally spend money on.

This was not the issue-but you get the point

Nothing gets me out of bed and on a treadmill faster than a trashy celeb mag. Thankfully, no one had taken it when I got there. I grabbed the mag, jumped on the treadmill and busted out 5 miles with 3 @ 8min 43 sec miles. I was happy with that. I could not have mentally or physically gone faster. I played some mental games, like:

It is only 8 minutes. The clock says 7:10, that means at 7:18, my mile will be done.It’s 7:16, only two more minutes. You can do anything for 2 minutes.

I will not look at the mileage until I finish reading this article about how The Biggest Loser gained 28 pounds.

I will not walk until I finish reading about Mel Gibson’s most expensive divorce.

Not sure what this is all about, but it has Mel Gibson and treadmill on it-two of my events this morning

I finished the workout with some rolling out of my IT bands, which have been tight and painful lately. I would love a foam roller and I am waiting for my tax return or Easter (Mom-Dad, are you reading this-eh hem) to get one. They are great for massaging out your muscles.

I then did 10 minutes of abs, 10 on the leg weight machines, and 10 on the bike to shake out the legs (while reading Self magazine, of course).

One response to “Trashy mags get me out of bed and running in the a.m.

  1. Pingback: Long Run – Minor Fail | Mountain Kait·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

