Baby Steps to Success

Today dedicated itself as the first day of my “Run Less Run Faster” marathon training plan. On the schedule was a 6 mile run with 2 miles at short tempo pace (8min 46sec/mile). Here is how mine played out:

Mile 1-warmup with Ky

Dropped Ky off at home

Mile 2-more warmup

Mile 3-8.34 min/mile (insert-scream)

Mile 4- 8.10 min/mile (insert-double fist pump)

Mile 5-Cool down

Mile .5-more cool down with Ky

So, here I am running again since last August. Besides my PR in the Heart Center of the Rockies half marathon, I have only been hitting the double digits in my pace. During my warmup I was hitting a 10 min/mile average and thought to myself “how in the world am I going to shave almost two minutes off of my time?!” But, the time came to end the warmup and play the game. It took me a while to figure out the pace and just what an 8.46 min/mile. I went about .25 miles and looked down at my watch. I was in the 7’s. So I stopped and started again. I really wanted to know what it felt like to be dialed into that pace. When I hit the mile marker and my Garmin beeped, I looked down and saw 8.34! I seriously stopped and screamed and said to myself “you FREAKIN’ got this sister!”

I Headed on to the next mile and tried to internalize the pace. I didn’t run with my ipod today for this reason. I wanted to be in tune with my body and the pace. I internalized how my legs felt, what my arms were doing (I held them higher today), how hard I was breathing, and where I was striking on my feet. I noted what felt achy or painful. The Garmin beeped again and I looked down to see 8.10! I double fist pumped and slowed it down for the cool down.

Moral of today’s story: Just when you think you can’t, you can!

Sweaty, beautiful goodness

 

2 responses to “Baby Steps to Success

  1. Pingback: Long Run – Minor Fail | Mountain Kait·

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

