Fitting in your workouts-on the mountain

Until I started training for my first marathon, I did not think that it was possible to get up any earlier than I had to. But, when the afternoons and evenings found themselves filled up, I had to fit in workouts in other ways and I quickly found the mornings to be very enjoyable. There is no traffic, the air is calm, and your workout is done for the day. Plus, coffee never tastes so good after a chilly morning air. I have kept this mentality into my graduate school years as well.

Yesterday, JWail wanted to go skiing at the local mountain. I did not technically have to be at the University until 1pm. So, I had the morning. Unfortunately, the mountain does not open until 9 and I had to be off the mountain and home to shower by noon. I still had some work to take care of as well.

Instead of getting up at 5 or 6am to workout, I got up at 5:30am so that I could get my work done in order to workout after that. I worked on graduate material from 5:45-7:45 while drinking coffee. Then got JWail up, made eggs to go, and headed to the mountain to ski for a couple of hours. It was perfect. And there was no excuse not to get out there and get my workout done on a work day.

Bonus: This is the first time that Josh and I have ridden a lift together. Between the two of us, we have ski passes to about 10 places in the West, just not to all of the same places together. We have skied plenty of times together, just in the backcountry.

My goal for next week is to get up and make it to the gym for a 6:30 muscle sculpt class. That means getting up at 5:45 and out of the house by 6:10-The Latest!

Thoughts? Ideas? Questions? I love hearing from you all!

